Reviews

What people are saying about The Royal an Lochan




A Must - Rating 5/5

Stayed on Saturday for one night and we were very impressed. Owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, our room was lovely with a view to die for and as for the bathroom, you will have to visit and see for yourself! Dinner was also excellent. Lots of little touches help to make this place special. The owners are new this year and we wish them a very successful future. Carry on the way you are and you won't go wrong. We especially appreciated the wonderful weather that was organised for us! We will be back.

Response

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We can take credit for everything except for the weather, though we like to think we brought some of the Aussie weather with us! It was lovely having you stay and so pleased you had a great time. KInd Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Jean H | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bedrooms and public areas, attentive and friendly staff, fantastic views, great food. What’s not to love!

Response

Thanks Kay, it was great to have you stay with us. Yes the rooms, food, views and staff are amazing. Hope to see again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Kay D | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Little gem- Rating 5/5

Very pleased with our stay. Lovely place, amazing food fresh and locally sourced, fabulous views & very helpful staff. Definitely one to visit again.

Response

Thank you Monika, so glad you had a great stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Monika B | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Birthday Getaway - Rating 5/5

My friend and I have birthdays a day apart so we chose The Royal as it was very highly recommended by a work colleague for a birthday night away, and we were not disappointed.We found the room very comfortable, the food was delicious and the staff were outstanding, so very helpful. Also the choice of music within the hotel was great, very age appropriate, we knew all the songs!Thank you for a lovely stay, hope to get back there sometime and explore more.

Response

Hi Maria, Thank you for your lovely review. The hotel is a great place to celebrate special events, plenty of places to relax, listen to music and enjoy great food and company. The staff have as much fun as the guests. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Maria K | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent hotel and location- Rating 5/5

First class hotel situated in a stunning location. Lovely room and views. Food excellent as was the service. Recommended and will be back

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes it is a stunning location and we pride ourselves on our food and customer service. Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Mason u | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Loved the bath and views - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, views across the loch are stunning. Great food and friendly owners and staff. Roll top bath was fabulous.

Response

Thank you, happy to help guests choose the room that suits them best. Views, roll top baths, walk in showers, king size beds etc Kind Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Argyle u | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Return to The Royal at Tighnabruaich - Rating 5/5

The new 2018 owners have made a number of small but positive changes.Having stayed many times over 20 years the Hotel continues to provide good food and excellent rooms.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back soon. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Fantastic weekend - Rating 5/5

Spent an amazing weekend at this hotel. Stunning location, extremely friendly staff, and wonderful food.Cannot sing high enough praises of this hotel. Would choose it over many other places we have stayed in Scotland.

Response

Hi GillianThank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated, it was certainly our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you that is such a compliment to have you choose us over many others in Scotland.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Gillian P | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at The Royal an Lochan and the owners couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring our needs were met. And as for the food! What a chef - worth his weight in gold!!

Response

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated, and yes our chef is worth his weight in gold, like all our staff we value them immensely. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Kirk u | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

The Royal an Lochan is situated right on the sea front in Tighnabruaich and our room had a wonderful view from both the front and side windows.It was very comfortable and Gill, Greg and the staff were most welcoming. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant and also thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts.I'd highly recommend a stay here and wish Gill and Greg lots of luck for their future in the Royal an Lochan.

Response

Hi Marion & Douglas, Thank you so much for your very kind review, it was our pleasure having you both stay with us, we enjoyed swapping stories and the laugh that this brought. Thank you too for the CD you so very generously gave us, we play it in the hotel and know how much it is appreciated.Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Marion D | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Wonderful relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as a group family occasion.The hotel is so comfortable with lots of places to sit in luxury and stunning views of hills and water.The staff were so welcoming and helpful.Food was delicious.The rooms were lovely ,spacious with comfortable beds.Definitely recommend highly and would love to go back!

Response

HI, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:H | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Relaxing Stay - Rating 4/5

Hotel is set in a lovely location with friendly, welcoming staff. Food was excellent and we enjoyed our stay thank you.We will be back.

Response

HI SandyThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and very much look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Sandy K | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely hotel in a stunning location - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was everything we expected.Food was first class and service excellent.One small point that I didn't enjoy was when we were asked to be on time for our dinner reservation, then coming to get us when we were late.The restaurant wasn't busy and we were really enjoying relaxing in the conservatory, catching up with old friends.That aside, the trip was enjoyable and the owners seemed really nice.Oh some music in the restaurant would be great!

Response

Hi, the Strickland family, thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am sorry you felt unnecessarily rushed into dinner, whilst we may not have appeared busy in the restaurant we did have other things on that night and with only one kitchen it makes timings often crucial, regardless though you shouldn\'t have felt rushed, but thank you for letting us know as this is something we can learn from going forward.We do have music on in the restaurant, perhaps it was down too low to hear, we have looked at the volume and turned it up since you sent this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:S | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Under new management - Rating 5/5

We spent a superb weekend at the An Lochan. Greg and Gill are outstanding hosts and Stacey Gill's daughter looked after us immensely. The hotel is comfortable, clean and has a great outlook with looking onto the Kyles of Bute. The food was outstanding thanks to Paul the chef, Georgia and Keanu coukd nit do enough for you either. The hotel has pmenty of comfortable places to sit after your meal. Thank you all for a great time. We had two great nights sleep in your comfortable beds. We also look forward to coming back to see you soonThank you Bobby and Donna Hodge.

Response

Thank you Bobby and Donna for your lovely review. It is always great for you to come and stay with us. You are one of a growing number of repeat guests who are more like friends coming to visit rather than house guests. The support and encouragement you have give us has been amazing. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:H | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

I'd love to give this hotel a rave review but then it would get popular and I would struggle to get a booking.Read into that what you will. ;-)

Response

Hi, Thank you for your review, it did make us smile, look forward to welcoming you back again,Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:C | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Spacious and charming - Rating 4/5

Very good room 2 and views. Bathroom huge.Owners very helpful.

Response

HI Simon, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Simon P | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


A lovely time - Rating 5/5

We visited mid week, and were delighted by the new owners who simply could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The grand-scale Victorian size bedroom wAs furnished nicely with TV (not a given in this part of the world..) and comfy king size bed. There were lovely touches with a helpful basket on each floor with bits and bobs you may need (hair grips, ear buds, safety pins etc), a view to kill for, and local artwork displayed throughout. All this was great, but the overwhelming thing I will take from this stay was the service provided by the owners (Greg and Jill) and the young Australian couple Georgia and keanu who were the nicest people I’ve met in a long time. The food was fabulous, service was great, and the view to die for. What more could you ask? Definitely going back.

Response

Thank you for the fabulous feedback. It was great having you stay with us. Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Reviewed by n | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Lakeside
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat