Reviews

What people are saying about The Royal an Lochan




Another wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a couple of nights after two weeks in the highlands, what can i say, no complaints in anyway, food was superb, service was excellent, rooms are clean and tidy and all the staff are pleasant and extremely helpful. Thanks Greg and Gill for a wonderful experience.

Response

Thank you for lovely review. It is always nice to see couples catching up in the beautiful surroundings over 2 days. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Mrs H | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 2 days ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

From the arrival right up to our departure we experienced nothing but hospitality and service.We enjoyed a three day stay in a breathtaking scenery both in Tighnabruaich and the surroundings and we were more than satisfied with The royal an Lochan as our homebase. Great food and wine as well.Would recommend this hotel gladly to lovers of quality.

Response

Thank you the Ides family, So nice to see you enjoy every aspect of the hotel over your 3 day stay. Tighnabruaich is a stunning place and the views from your rooms are beautiful. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:I | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 5 days ago


Splendid - Rating 5/5

Just what we needed. We had a wonderful time,room, dinner, service... Looking forward to staying there again. ¡Muchas gracias!

Response

Our wonderful Spanish visitors. You both brought so much energy, fun and life to the hotel. Love having international visitors at the hotel. Even better that you had a great time. See you again on your next visit. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Alicia masia m | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

My partner and i stayed for 2nights. It was alovely hotel. Staff on arrival were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable, sea view. Bathroom with bath and shower en suite was huge. Stayed in both nights for dinner, food was lovely again as was staff. Made to feel very welcome.Breakfast was included in the price. Choices were great. We had the full Scottish breakfast which was lovely.Overall very happy with our stay, and would definitely recommend.

Response

Hi Denise Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. So pleased you had a nice time enjoyng the accommodation, food and service. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Denise R | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Amazing Hotel Experience - Rating 5/5

3 days of bliss, sea room view room has stunning views so relaxing, evening meals and breakfast is first class. Definately the best hotel we have stayed at due to how friendly the staff are, the owners are lovely, plus the most stunning location and views. Perfect location to travel from especially with portavadie 10 mins away for the spa facilities etc. We will definately be back loved every minute didn't want to come home.

Response

Hi ScottThank you both for chosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a fabulous review, it is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we wish you could have stayed longer too, but look forward to welcoming you back. Our job is made much easier by having lovely guests to look after and you and your lovely wife were certainly that.Warm RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Scott y | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a very nice hotel. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. I would like to thank the owners for making us welcome. If I visit Tighnabruaich again, I will most certainly stay here again.

Response

Thanks for you nice review Rakesh. Always good to see to guests using the hotel to connect with friends and family. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Rakesh S | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


5 Ferry’s Stopover- Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Royal an Lochan as a stopover on our 5 Ferry’s challenge. The hotel was lovely and the room was great with a stunning view over the Kyles of Bute. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there was no dinner service on the Wednesday evening, but the breakfast was lovely. The hotel appears to have been recently taken over (2018) and there are still some areas of the hotel needing updated, but I would certainly recommend staying here.

Response

Thank you for your feedback. Yes our restaurant is open every night except Wednesday night. On Wednesdays there are 3 very good options within 1 mile of the hotel and we are happy to book our guests. We are constantly updated areas of the hotel without losing it\'s charm. Looking to hopefully seeing you again sometime soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:N | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


A good place all round - Rating 4/5

We had a great time. Room was lovely. Staff helpful and polite. A nice atmosphere in the hotel informal but still attentive. We were a pain one evening about the cheese board but all taken with a bit of humour and friendly banter! We will come back. Thanks.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try and keep things fun and work with our guests to ensure they have a great time. Looking for forward to seeing you again sometime. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:| Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Perfect Hosts. - Rating 5/5

Beautiful sea view room.Food very good quality.From the check in to check out the Hotel and Staff were First Class.Will stay again.

Response

Hi John Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed all your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:John B | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Ruby and Bert McKim, Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful few days at thr Royal an Lochan which is situated in such an idyllic setting. tne accommodation was first class, the food excellent and the staff very helpful-for us the perfect holiday. Many thanks

Response

Thank you Mr & Mrs McKim, for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it was our pleasure having you stay with us, we hope to see you next year. If asked what they perfect guest would be we would describe you both.Fondest wishesGreg & Gill

Reviewer:william m | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, stayed there many times before but first time under the excellent stewardship of Greg and Jill, ably assisted by their team of Keanu, Georgia, Mishka and Nathan, can`t fault them very kind and fantastic hosts.

Response

Hi MikeThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we often say that having such beautiful guests makes our job such a pleasure and you were certainly that, not to mention entertaining. We hope you vist next time you are in the area.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Mike R | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We are pleased to give the hotel a good review.Comfortable clean rooms, friendly efficient staff and great breakfast.It was good to have options if you don't want a fried breakfast.We stayed are extra night.

Response

Hi Mr UnsworthThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is so appreciated. Good to hear too you enjoyed your smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, a very popular alternative to the full Scottish breakfast.Look forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Jack U | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Fab stay 🙂 - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night in a double room with a stunning view over the water. Would have liked to have stayed 2 nights but the hotel was full the following evening. Room was well presented and extremely clean. The couple who own the hotel have only just taken it over and you can clearly see the changes they are making to make the hotel modern and comfortable whilst retaining the originalcharacter. There were lots of places to sit and relax, lovely fireplaces which will be fab in the cooler months and great views.A nice seating area outside as well. The bar was mobbed clearly favoured by locals but there was a good atmosphere.The food was great, the biggest langoustine I have ever seen and the scallops were also very tasty.My husband also enjoyed his haggis starter and gammon steak. It was his birthday and the staff not only sang but popped a little candle on his dessert. A very nice touch. In all we had a lovely time the owners and staff were all very nice and couldn’t do enough for you. We will stay again. (The only thing missing was a pool table, I’m sure that’s what Greg the owner said 😂😂) next time we come We’ll see if he got his wish. Thanks for a great stay.

Response

Hi Mr & Mrs McCrindle,Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review, we certainly appreciate it. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to you returning. It is a bit of labour of love making the changes needed in this beautiful old building and nothing happens fast enough, but so lovely to hear you thoughts on them.Our staff enjoy celebrating with our guests on special occasions, although not all of us have singing voice, but we know of course its the thought that counts!Thanks for your feedback re the pool table, as Greg reminded me we encourage feedback from our guests in order that we can make changes, so now I am on the hunt for a pool table that can double up as a dinner table for large groups, a top table for a wedding, performing karaoke on, taking it outside in the summer months for our guests to sun bath on, etc. So it may not be in place for some time, but Greg is as ever hopefully....Look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Mary M | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Holiday 2019 - Rating 4/5

Delightful place to rest a while. Amazing views down the lock. Team very attentive. Good food carefully presented.

Response

Hi William, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.Kind regardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:William W | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Super friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

We had a great time.We travelled with my parents and three children who are ten and twelve.We stayed here during our Five Ferries Challenge.It was a welcome stop. Comfortable rooms with lovely homemade shortbread.Dinner was tasty and serves well by our lovely waitress.

Response

Hi The Lawrie familyThank you for taking the time to write this lovely view, it is very much appreciated. You are an amazing family and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us, what an inspiration you all are, its no easy challenge the five ferries by bicycle so well done.Look forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Ms L L | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Relaxing - Rating 4/5

Beautiful hotel with stunning views. Hospitality was excellent, made to feel very welcome. Second time we have been to this hotel and won’t be the last. Would have been nice to know the staff names for a more personal touch.

Response

Hi Alasdair, thank you taking the time to write such a great review, it is very much appreciated. Yes totally agree about knowing our staff names, and it reminded me to ask staff to wear our name badges as we do have them, but had got out the habit or wearing them, so thank you for this feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Alasdair D | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Good hotel - shame about the rates. - Rating 3/5

Stayed at this hotel before and found it very pleasant however, this time I was disappointed at the disparity of rates. I paid £130 more than a couple who were staying in a similar standard of room for the same length of time.

Response

Hi NeilThank you for taking the time to write your review, all feedback both negative or positive is appreciated. I am surprised to read there was another couple paying such a difference in the rate, although there are cheaper rates at last minute as with all areas of business, hence the word sale but we of course know there is no guarantee of getting the best room etc. Also there is no other room in comparison to the one you stayed in as its the only 4 poster bed, with the luxurious bathroom complete with the claw feet bath we have.Taking your comments on board, if you are planning another trip this way, please give us a call direct and perhaps we can discuss a more comparable rate for you.Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, and hopefully we will see you again.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Neil P | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


The royal hotel - Rating 3/5

The hotel continues to be very comfortable, well located with good food and cheery helpful staff. Our only difficulty was the overwhelming quantity of rather depressing artl

Response

HI Penny & GrahamThank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, we do appreciate all our customers comments. I am sorry that the art work was not to your taste, art is such a personal thing, as we all know, and of course if we all like the same things this world of ours would be a very boring place.We have sold many pieces of the art since taking over May of last year and we personally feel lucky to have it adorn our walls in the hotel.It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully will see you again, perhaps next time the art work may be a little less depressive.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:penny graham w | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly cleanFood varied &good sized portions Patrons attentive &not overbearing. Only minus the shower base was a safety hazardbeing very slippery but owners provided a mat when requestedWell worth a visit

Response

Hi Mr & Mrs HodgkissThank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and of course for the feedback with regards to the bath mat, we now have put shower mats in all our rooms with notes to say where they are stored and to encourage our guests to use them not only in the baths, but in the walk in showers.We look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:H | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Eva & Anders from Sweden - Rating 5/5

Verk nice. Good service and great food.

Response

HI Eva & AndersThank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.Kind regardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:P | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Beautiful place to stay... - Rating 5/5

Beautiful area and a great hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and a wonderful attention to detail was made to make our stay there comfortable and relaxing. The views from the window were stunning. Staff were really helpful and arranged for us to leave our bikes safely inside. Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and would definitely stay there again.

Response

Hi JayneThank you so very much for your very kind review, it is very much appreciate it, good luck with the rest of you cycling, and we look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:Jayne W | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

We were exploring the west coast and returning back to Glasgow, so we decided to return to the place my father had a holiday 100 years ago, when he was 12.We were so pleased we did.The location was good.The welcome was good.The room was better than good.The dinner and breakfast were delicious.Well done to Jill and Graham!

Response

Hi Mr & Mrs Cameron, thank you both for taking the time out to write such a lovely review, it was lovely to meet you both and here your family stories of times gone by, look forward to seeing you again hopefully.Kind Regards Gill & Greg

Reviewer:Peter C | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

Our stay at The Royal an Lochan was very enjoyable the staff were very friendly the food was excellent we really enjoyed The Shinty Bar my husband and myself would stay there again but in the room with the four poster bedThanK you for making our stay enjoyable

Response

HiThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and much appreciated review. We look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGreg & Gill

Reviewer:B | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Second Visit - Rating 5/5

Our second visit was as enjoyable as our first.Last minute booking was no problem and so good to be recognised by the friendly staff as we arrived. Different room this time, but can't fault the room was clean, tidy and welcoming. Dinner was excellent and the service was faultless. We will be back again.

Response

Hi Elizabeth, Great to see you back and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Are staff are like family (and some of them actually are) and we try and have some fun and enjoy what we do as it helps to guests to relax and feel a bit like part of the team. See you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Elizabeth O | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


A great weekend break - Rating 5/5

My husband and I were looking for a weekend break, away from busy city life, without having to drive too far from Glasgow. This is a beautiful, quiet part of the country. We found the ideal hotel break at The Royal an Lochan, surrounded by beautiful scenery, easy local walks and with Gill and Greg as welcoming hosts. If their aim is to create a home from home, they have been successful. We will be back.

Response

Hi Jacqueline You have summarised Tighnabruaich so well. Within 2 hours of Glasgow, you can get busy do lots of things or just do nothing at all. We just try and make your stay as easy as possible so you can just relax and take time out from the hurly burly (sorry that might be Australian lingo) of life. Thank you so much for your generous comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Jacqueline N | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Like coming home - Rating 5/5

Gill, thank you Greg and all the staff for making it another superb weekend at th An Lochan.Brilliant company, superb food and an excellent sea view, we could not ask for anything better. Looking forward to our next visit xx

Response

Hi Bobby and Donna, Thank you for staying with us again. Yes it is very much like family when you are here and your support during our first 13 months has been amazing. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:H | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Good three star hotel - Rating 4/5

My stay was comfortable with quite a large room andlarge bathroom. Strangely no shower other than a hand held attached to bath taps - good enough but no shower curtain so not practical to use.Breakfast was good, nice big lounge to relax in.

Response

HI BrianThank you for your review and taking the time to write it, we so appreciate your thoughts. Your room is the only one that has a bath only and a shower attachment really just useful for assisting in the washing of your hair, however as I am sure you are aware as we only took over a year ago, we are working our way through the improvement list. Our intention is to put a shower in this bathroom, but its quite a large job as the water is fed from the other end to the wall, therefore the bath etc all needs to be taken out and turned around if that makes sense. We just have had the quote in for the work and will get this started as soon as business allows.But having your review reinstates the importance of this work as a priority.Please let us know if you are visiting us again and we will ensure you have a room with a shower, but good to hear you did enjoy other aspects of your stay.Thanks as alwaysGill & Greg

Reviewer:Brian P | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Visit to the Kyles - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at this small hotel on the seashore. Food and staff were eccellentFriendly staffFreshly cooked local food included langoustines sourced on the day by the restaurant.Good chat and craic in the Shinty Bar with the friendly locals.Great location

Response

Hi Simon it was great to have you stay with us and yes the langoustines are always popular. We live in amazing community and it is great to see locals and guests mixing. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Simon K | Sun 26th May 2019 | 2 months ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.Excellent food and delightful family run hotel.Look forward to our next visit.

Response

Hi Robert great to see you both again and lovely to spend some time with you. It is wonderful to have so many people so positive in their comments about our journey. See you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Mr Robert S | Sun 26th May 2019 | 2 months ago


An Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

8 of us stayed here recently as part of walking the Cowal Way. It started well with beers outside in the sun.Rooms were comfortable, showers were hot, the food and wine were excellent, especially pudding wine. Lovely sandwiches for packed lunch the next day.Finally our golden retriever, Lily, enjoyed the peace of the bathroom floor. An excellent stay and a great first night's choice.

Response

HI Alexander Walking this fine part of Scotland is hard work but the amazing scenery makes it all worthwhile. Such lovely comments you have made, thank you. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:alexander c m | Mon 20th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Good small hotel - Rating 5/5

We d a very pleasant stay, lovely clean &comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Response

Hi Elaine Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you enjoyed your visit. All the best Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Elaine M | Sat 18th May 2019 | 3 months ago


As good as ever - Rating 5/5

Although the reason for my visit was a sad one, my stay at the Royal was as great as ever.They couldn't claim credit for the weather but the views are the best in the world.I must visit more often.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and staying with us again. Yes the weather has been glorious like it is 12 months of the year!!!! Kinds Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:M | Wed 15th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Warm welcome, lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

We were sailing with friends through the Clyde and into the Kyles of Bute, their boat wasn't big enough for all to stay on board so we needed shore accommodation for 2 adults and 2 children. I called Gregg and he was able to put two good quality fold up beds into a double room for us. The room was well decorated, clean, great quality furnishings, en suite was clean, modern with a good powerful shower, complimentary toiletries etc. We also dined in the hotel that night with all of our tribe, 9 in total. Gill was very flexible and set us up a table in a private room. After dinner we sat and had a drink by the fire it was super relaxed. Beds were comfortable, breakfast the next day was good quality, plenty of it, we are both veggies so had the veggie breakfast. All in all a really pleasant stay, very friendly family that run the hotel and in a beautiful location. Highly recommend.

Response

Thank you David for your lovely review. Nice to see our moorings used and glad with the Hotel adjacent you were able to use the full facilities. Always nice to see family and friends enjoying time together. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:G | Fri 10th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed recently at the hotel, and we could not have had a better experience. The setting is fantastic. Overlooking the famous Kyles of Bute over to the island itself.We were given a room with this spectacular view. It was spotlessly clean with a roll-top bath and four-poster bed. Well supplied with tea and coffee and biscuits, we sat in comfy armchairs taking in the view.Dinner was lovely with a good choice at very reasonable prices. We were impressed by the vegetarian option of roasted vegetables with goats cheese and a poached egg. I had fish and chips. Everything was fresh and nicely presented. But what stood out for us was the service. Professional, warm but unobtrusive, Gill got it just right.The dining room makes use of the fantastic views and it was very romantic to see the light changing over the water as the evening wore on.Breakfast was lovely too, again with attentive service and a well-presented, fresh selection.We had scouted around several local hotels before our stay and the Royal An Lochan stood out to us for its location in the centre of the lovely village of Tighnabruich and especially the ambience created by the owners Gill and Greg who are working hard to keep it special. We cannot recommend it highly enough and will be back.

Response

Hi Patricia, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review, we do so appreciate it. It really warmed our hearts to read such kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back. Since taking over the Royal just a year ago this week, we have had many beautiful guests stay & eat with us, like you and your lovely husband so this does make our jobs so much more enjoyable.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Patricia G | Fri 3rd May 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect stay- Rating 5/5

Location was ideal, room was massive with a great view and the food was exceptional. Will certainly be going back.

Response

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:K | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay at The Royal. Lovely room with fabulous view, staff very friendly and helpful and dinner was delicious! Looking forward to our next visit! Moorings at the front so very easy for sailors to pop in!

Response

Hi Nikki, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is appreciated. particularly appreciate the feedback on the moorings, as these are something we have serviced but know very little about. We look forward to seeing you again.Kind Regards Gill

Reviewer:nikki c | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

Beautiful location. Lovely food. Very friendly staff.

Response

Hi Eileen thank you for your kind words and staying with us. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Eileen D | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Breakfast was delicious.

Response

We are glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:S | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Superb...........again - Rating 5/5

Brief stay but lovely DB&B experience. Amazing views, lovely welcome, great service and the sun shone brightly.Going back next month.

Response

Hi Euan Feels like you live here. Great to see you both again and we look forward to your next stop in May. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Euan S | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.Comfortable hotel and friendly hosts a special mention to Georgia.We found the restaurant menu limited and expensive.

Response

Hi June, Thank you for staying and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for your feedback in relation to the menu. We are constantly reviewing our menu and pricing and appreciate the time you took to comment. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:june v | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


A little gem on the west coast - Rating 4/5

The new owners of this lovely intimate hotel are making a big impression. Rooms are well presented, comfortable and have amazing views over the Kyles. Public areas are restful and the food is wonderful. Great deals to be had.

Response

Hi George, 12 months into our ownership of the Royal an Lochan and we are constantly trying to make our guests experience better each time. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:George M | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Great team , friendly and welcoming. Happy to recommend Royal Lichan - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a good choice. Welcoming and friendly team and view from bedroom was amazing. The food was good too. This hotel doesn't just rely on the fantastic location, whole experience was lovely. Georgia had a smile on her face from the moment we arrived until we left.

Response

Hi James, Thank you for the great review. Yes Tighnabruaich is a stunning location with so much to see. Georgia and the rest of our staff do a great job. We are lucky to have wonderful people working with us. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:James J | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Ate here 15 years ago and returned for the scallops which are outstanding. Now the rest of the hotel is lovely, spotless and with its character retained.The view from the front is great too. Well worth a detour. New management and staff seem to have absolutely got it right.

Response

Hi Nick Thank you for staying for us and your lovely feedback. Yes the view is spectacular. We are working hard every day to improve the hotel to make our guests experience amazing. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Nick C | Sat 13th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Fantastic hotel - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a great overnight stay - fabulous service, great food and very comfortable room.We’ll be back. Thank you

Response

Hi Linda It was fantastic having you stay with us. Thank you for your generous feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Linda W | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Repeat visitor - Rating 4/5

Lovely welcome from a great team at the Royal in Tighnabruaich. We booked at short notice and stayed one night with dinner. Views are amazing, food and drink excellent. We had a lovely time.

Response

Thank you to you both for visiting us again. Great to see you bring the sunshine with you. See you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Euan S | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


New Year Break - Rating 5/5

My family stayed here on the 31st Dec. The 5 course dinner we had was excellent and afterwards Michelle Hall was singing for people to dance to. There was then fireworks at the bells to bring in the new year, all in all a brilliant hogmanay night. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Wishing them all the best in the new year.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. It was an amazing Hogmanay and we are glad you had such a great time. Always nice to have families stay with us. Have a great New Year. Warm Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:M | Thu 3rd Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


30th Birthday weekend - Rating 5/5

A big thank you to everyone for making our stay at The Royal An Lochan so special. It was our Son’s 30th Birthday andall of our party had a relaxing, fun and memorable time. The rooms were perfect as was the food. Thank you once again. We will be back soon. Kenneth, Elizabeth McCartneyand family.

Response

It was so lovely to meet such a wonderful family enjoying a special event together. It was great seeing you all chatting to all hours around the fire. Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is well suited to groups wanting to get away together to wine, dine, relax and of course celebrate. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:E M | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


A Must - Rating 5/5

Stayed on Saturday for one night and we were very impressed. Owners and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, our room was lovely with a view to die for and as for the bathroom, you will have to visit and see for yourself! Dinner was also excellent. Lots of little touches help to make this place special. The owners are new this year and we wish them a very successful future. Carry on the way you are and you won't go wrong. We especially appreciated the wonderful weather that was organised for us! We will be back.

Response

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We can take credit for everything except for the weather, though we like to think we brought some of the Aussie weather with us! It was lovely having you stay and so pleased you had a great time. KInd Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Jean H | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bedrooms and public areas, attentive and friendly staff, fantastic views, great food. What’s not to love!

Response

Thanks Kay, it was great to have you stay with us. Yes the rooms, food, views and staff are amazing. Hope to see again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Kay D | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Little gem- Rating 5/5

Very pleased with our stay. Lovely place, amazing food fresh and locally sourced, fabulous views &very helpful staff. Definitely one to visit again.

Response

Thank you Monika, so glad you had a great stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Monika B | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Birthday Getaway - Rating 5/5

My friend and I have birthdays a day apart so we chose The Royal as it was very highly recommended by a work colleague for a birthday night away, and we were not disappointed.We found the room very comfortable, the food was delicious and the staff were outstanding, so very helpful. Also the choice of music within the hotel was great, very age appropriate, we knew all the songs!Thank you for a lovely stay, hope to get back there sometime and explore more.

Response

Hi Maria, Thank you for your lovely review. The hotel is a great place to celebrate special events, plenty of places to relax, listen to music and enjoy great food and company. The staff have as much fun as the guests. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Maria K | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent hotel and location- Rating 5/5

First class hotel situated in a stunning location. Lovely room and views. Food excellent as was the service. Recommended and will be back

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes it is a stunning location and we pride ourselves on our food and customer service. Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Mason u | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Loved the bath and views - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, views across the loch are stunning. Great food and friendly owners and staff. Roll top bath was fabulous.

Response

Thank you, happy to help guests choose the room that suits them best. Views, roll top baths, walk in showers, king size beds etc Kind Regards Gill and Greg

Reviewer:Argyle u | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Return to The Royal at Tighnabruaich - Rating 5/5

The new 2018 owners have made a number of small but positive changes.Having stayed many times over 20 years the Hotel continues to provide good food and excellent rooms.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back soon. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Fantastic weekend - Rating 5/5

Spent an amazing weekend at this hotel. Stunning location, extremely friendly staff, and wonderful food.Cannot sing high enough praises of this hotel. Would choose it over many other places we have stayed in Scotland.

Response

Hi GillianThank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated, it was certainly our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you that is such a compliment to have you choose us over many others in Scotland.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Gillian P | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at The Royal an Lochan and the owners couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring our needs were met. And as for the food! What a chef - worth his weight in gold!!

Response

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated, and yes our chef is worth his weight in gold, like all our staff we value them immensely. It was our pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Kirk u | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Excellent enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

The Royal an Lochan is situated right on the sea front in Tighnabruaich and our room had a wonderful view from both the front and side windows.It was very comfortable and Gill, Greg and the staff were most welcoming. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant and also thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts.I'd highly recommend a stay here and wish Gill and Greg lots of luck for their future in the Royal an Lochan.

Response

Hi Marion & Douglas, Thank you so much for your very kind review, it was our pleasure having you both stay with us, we enjoyed swapping stories and the laugh that this brought. Thank you too for the CD you so very generously gave us, we play it in the hotel and know how much it is appreciated.Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Marion D | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Wonderful relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as a group family occasion.The hotel is so comfortable with lots of places to sit in luxury and stunning views of hills and water.The staff were so welcoming and helpful.Food was delicious.The rooms were lovely ,spacious with comfortable beds.Definitely recommend highly and would love to go back!

Response

HI, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:H | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Relaxing Stay - Rating 4/5

Hotel is set in a lovely location with friendly, welcoming staff. Food was excellent and we enjoyed our stay thank you.We will be back.

Response

HI SandyThank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and very much look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Sandy K | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 12 months ago


Lovely hotel in a stunning location - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was everything we expected.Food was first class and service excellent.One small point that I didn't enjoy was when we were asked to be on time for our dinner reservation, then coming to get us when we were late.The restaurant wasn't busy and we were really enjoying relaxing in the conservatory, catching up with old friends.That aside, the trip was enjoyable and the owners seemed really nice.Oh some music in the restaurant would be great!

Response

Hi, the Strickland family, thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am sorry you felt unnecessarily rushed into dinner, whilst we may not have appeared busy in the restaurant we did have other things on that night and with only one kitchen it makes timings often crucial, regardless though you shouldn\'t have felt rushed, but thank you for letting us know as this is something we can learn from going forward.We do have music on in the restaurant, perhaps it was down too low to hear, we have looked at the volume and turned it up since you sent this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:S | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Under new management - Rating 5/5

We spent a superb weekend at the An Lochan. Greg and Gill are outstanding hosts and Stacey Gill's daughter looked after us immensely. The hotel is comfortable, clean and has a great outlook with looking onto the Kyles of Bute. The food was outstanding thanks to Paul the chef, Georgia and Keanu coukd nit do enough for you either. The hotel has pmenty of comfortable places to sit after your meal. Thank you all for a great time. We had two great nights sleep in your comfortable beds. We also look forward to coming back to see you soonThank you Bobby and Donna Hodge.

Response

Thank you Bobby and Donna for your lovely review. It is always great for you to come and stay with us. You are one of a growing number of repeat guests who are more like friends coming to visit rather than house guests. The support and encouragement you have give us has been amazing. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Greg and Gill

Reviewer:H | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

I'd love to give this hotel a rave review but then it would get popular and I would struggle to get a booking.Read into that what you will. ;-)

Response

Hi, Thank you for your review, it did make us smile, look forward to welcoming you back again,Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:C | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Spacious and charming - Rating 4/5

Very good room 2 and views. Bathroom huge.Owners very helpful.

Response

HI Simon, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back.Kind RegardsGill & Greg

Reviewer:Simon P | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


A lovely time - Rating 5/5

We visited mid week, and were delighted by the new owners who simply could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The grand-scale Victorian size bedroom wAs furnished nicely with TV (not a given in this part of the world..) and comfy king size bed. There were lovely touches with a helpful basket on each floor with bits and bobs you may need (hair grips, ear buds, safety pins etc), a view to kill for, and local artwork displayed throughout. All this was great, but the overwhelming thing I will take from this stay was the service provided by the owners (Greg and Jill) and the young Australian couple Georgia and keanu who were the nicest people I’ve met in a long time. The food was fabulous, service was great, and the view to die for. What more could you ask? Definitely going back.

Response

Thank you for the fabulous feedback. It was great having you stay with us. Greg and Gill

Reviewer:Reviewed by n | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We have just enjoyed 4 nights at the Royal an Lochan. We were particularly pleased that we chose a room with a sea view and were allocated Room 9 with its beautiful bay window on the second floor and bathtub in the ensuite.The breakfast service was impeccable with freshly laundered linen, the teapot came with extra hot water, and a choice between a full and varied Scottish Breakfast and an alternative hot option.On three evenings we ate in the Shinty Bar and found this had a relaxed and cosy atmosphere and enjoyed our meals there.It was good to note the very personal attention of the owners to their guests and to all aspects of the management of the hotel.Being a morning person, oftenup by 6, I found the 0830 breakfast start time rather late.

Response

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Christine

Reviewer:Peter C | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Lakeside
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat